Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Use these resources to find background information on your topic.
Credo Reference
Credo Reference contains dictionaries, general and subject encyclopedias, biographies, handbooks, atlases, and more.
Gale eBooks
Gale eBooks is a collection of full-text e-books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books in biography, history, literature, medicine, and more.
Salem History
Salem History is an online database of full-text reference e-books and primary sources on American history and world history.
Credo Reference
Credo Reference contains dictionaries, general and subject encyclopedias, biographies, handbooks, atlases, and more. Gale eBooks
Gale eBooks is a collection of full-text e-books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books in biography, history, literature, medicine, and more. Salem History
Salem History is an online database of full-text reference e-books and primary sources on American history and world history.
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.
Academic OneFile (Gale)
Academic OneFile offers sources on a wide range of topics from scholarly journals and magazines and newspapers.
JSTOR
JSTOR contains hundreds of scholarly journals from all disciplines. Full text coverage varies by journal.
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers. Academic OneFile (Gale)
Academic OneFile offers sources on a wide range of topics from scholarly journals and magazines and newspapers. JSTOR
JSTOR contains hundreds of scholarly journals from all disciplines. Full text coverage varies by journal.
Artstor
Artstor is a cross-disciplinary image database. It offers collections of approximately 300,000 art images and descriptive information covering art, architecture and archeology. ARTstor's accompanying software tools will support a wide range of pedagogical and research uses including: viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline.
Ancient & Medieval History
Covering prehistory through the 1500s, Ancient and Medieval History provides coverage of nine civilizations—ancient Egypt, ancient Mesopotamia, ancient Greece, ancient Rome, ancient and medieval Africa, medieval Europe, the Americas, ancient and medieval Asia, and Islamic Empire. This database also features biographies, original maps and charts, timelines, and primary sources.
Daily Life through History
Daily Life Online is a database providing information on the daily lives of people around the world. The content includes books, articles, images, maps, primary documents, and more.
LitFinder (Gale Literature)
A collection of poems, speeches, short stories, and novels, along with selected literary criticism.
Artstor is a cross-disciplinary image database. It offers collections of approximately 300,000 art images and descriptive information covering art, architecture and archeology. ARTstor's accompanying software tools will support a wide range of pedagogical and research uses including: viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline. Ancient & Medieval History
Covering prehistory through the 1500s, Ancient and Medieval History provides coverage of nine civilizations—ancient Egypt, ancient Mesopotamia, ancient Greece, ancient Rome, ancient and medieval Africa, medieval Europe, the Americas, ancient and medieval Asia, and Islamic Empire. This database also features biographies, original maps and charts, timelines, and primary sources. Daily Life through History
Daily Life Online is a database providing information on the daily lives of people around the world. The content includes books, articles, images, maps, primary documents, and more. LitFinder (Gale Literature)
A collection of poems, speeches, short stories, and novels, along with selected literary criticism. 
Ask Us Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!
(952) 358-8290
David Vrieze Daniels
Library Faculty - Reference & Instruction
david.vriezedaniels@normandale.edu
Chat with a Librarian
We're here to help!
Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Evaluate each source you use with CAPPS!
Consider the source's –
Consider the source's –
C = Currency
A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources
More info about CAPPS A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.
MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.
MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).
Chicago Quick Guide
A guide to Chicago-style citations (both footnote-bibliography and author-date). Each example shows a full note, shortened note, and bibliography entry.
A guide to Chicago-style citations (both footnote-bibliography and author-date). Each example shows a full note, shortened note, and bibliography entry.