Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias can be a great way to begin research. Encyclopedia articles give a broad overview of a topic and will lead you to more specific sources.

Gale eBooks Restricted Resource
Gale eBooks logoGale eBooks is a collection of full-text e-books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books in biography, history, literature, medicine, and more.

Credo Reference Restricted Resource
Credo logoCredo Reference contains dictionaries, general and subject encyclopedias, biographies, handbooks, atlases, and more.
Articles for Historical Context
JSTOR Restricted Resource
JSTOR contains hundreds of scholarly journals from all disciplines. Full text coverage varies by journal.


American History Restricted Resource
American political, military, social, and cultural history, with expanded coverage of American women’s history and U.S. government.  

African-American History Restricted Resource
500 years of African-American history.  

American Indian History Restricted Resource
15,000 years of American Indian history and culture.
Minnesota History: The Quarterly of the Minnesota Historical Society
Minnesota History is a peer-reviewed magazine, begun in 1915 and published by the Minnesota Historical Society Press.

Online Archive & Index

Print Archive & Index
Normandale Library owns print issues from 1925-present; ask for issues at the Circulation Desk. A print index for vols. 1-10 (1915-1929) is available in the Reference area of the Library, REF  F601  .I53  1915-1929.

Primary Resources for Minnesota History

Minnesota Historical Society: Collections Online
A searchable database of photographs, art and posters covering Minnesota history.

Minnesota History Center LibGuides
These guides will help you find sources (primary and secondary) for a variety of topics related to Minnesota history. 

Digital Public Library of America Unrestricted Resource
The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) is a freely available collection of resources from libraries, archives, and museums. Search by theme, location, or era. 

HathiTrust Digital Library
Digital collections of the libraries of major research universities.

Archives Unbound Restricted Resource
Archives UnboundArchives Unbound includes topically-focused digital collections of primary source material. These historical documents support research in history, political science, ethnic studies, and more. Normandale Library has access to three collections: The American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism, The Black Liberation Army and the Program of Armed Struggle, and “We Were Prepared for the Possibility of Death”: Freedom Riders in the South, 1961.  

Minnesota Reflections Unrestricted Resource
Minnesota Reflections, a product of the Minnesota Digital Library, contains more than 80,000 Images/library, maps, and documents from more than 125 of the state's cultural heritage organizations, offering resources on Minnesota history and geography.

Historical Newspapers

Minnesota Historical Newspaper Hub
Full-text issues of Minnesota Newspapers dated back to 1849 and up to 1925).

Chronicling America Chronicling America is a product of the Library of Congress. Look to the left of the main search bar to narrow your results by state and date.
Refine Your Topic
Choosing a research topic can take a bit of trial and error. After choosing a topic, you may need to refine it as you start your research. Watch the video below from North Carolina State University Library to understand the research cycle.

Refining Your Topic
Use this guide from Golden Gate University for addtional tips and information for refining your topic. 






 
Primary Vs. Secondary Sources
Primary Sources: Provide direct or firsthand evidence
Can be Qualitative or Quantitative Data
Examples: Diaries, speeches, photographs, census data, and other government documents, newspaper articles

Secondary Sources: Produced after the event and analyze or interpret in some way. 
Examples: biographies, scholarly Articles, encyclopedias, newspapers


 
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email


David Vrieze Daniels
Library Faculty - Reference & Instruction
david.vriezedaniels@normandale.edu

Chat with a Librarian
We're here to help!
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Keyword Worksheet
Evaluate Source Credibility
Evaluate each source you use with CAPPS!
Consider the source's –
C = Currency
A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources
More info about CAPPS pdf
Cite Your Sources (MLA)
MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.
Cite Your Sources (Chicago)
Chicago Quick Guide
A guide to Chicago-style citations (both footnote-bibliography and author-date). Each example shows a full note, shortened note, and bibliography entry.

Creating a Chicago-style Bibliography
This page explains how to format and write a Chicago-style bibliography. This other page on the website shows how to insert and shorten footnotes, and how to cite the same resource multiple times.


Powered by SubjectsPlus