Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
News and Newspapers
Trying to pick a news topic? Try browsing the United Nations News Centre!

UN News Centre Unrestricted Resource
The official news service of the UN. This website includes articles, radio broadcasts, live TV coverage, and press releases from the United Nations.

ProQuest News & Newspapers Restricted Resource
Provides full text coverage of thousands of U.S. and international newspapers. Includes the former ProQuest Newsstand collection, now named Global Newsstream. Click onto Global Newsstream to access international newspapers. 

Newsbank Access World News Restricted Resource
Newsbank logo​Newsbank World provides full-text access to thousands of newspapers from around the world. Users can limit searches to publications from particular regions or countries.

The Economist Restricted Resource
The Economist is a respected weekly publication covering international politics, economics, and business news. This link accesses The Economist through Expanded Academic ASAP. Enter a country name in  the "Search Within Publication" box to find articles mentioning that country.

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.
Background Info on Countries
CountryWatch Country Reviews Restricted Resource
Country Watch logo and linkAn up-to-date source of information on countries of the world. CountryWatch provides both basic statistic and in-depth information on political and social conditions.




A to Z the World Restricted Resource
A to Z the World logoCountry reports for 175 countries include basic geography and political information as well as descriptions of business culture, human rights and religious freedom information, and travel warnings.

NationMaster Unrestricted Resource
NationMaster logoUsing data compiled from the CIA World Factbook, the United Nations, and the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), NationMaster.com allows users to generate custom tables and graphs comparing statistical data between any two countries.

Background Notes on the Countries of the World Unrestricted Resource
These publications include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty.

Country Studies Unrestricted Resource
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world and examines the interrelationships of those systems and the ways they are shaped by cultural factors.
Note: Studies included here were published between 1988 and 1998.



Council on Foreign Relations – Student Resources Unrestricted Resource
Council on Foreign Relations link and logoThe Council on Foreign Relations student resources website has links to issue guides and backgrounders, articles, primary sources, and link lists organized by topic or region. 

United States Department of State Unrestricted Resource
Includes policy information concerning other countries. 
Find Data and Statistics by Country
World Bank Databank Unrestricted Resource
World Bank logoThe Databank is a collection of statistical databases developed by the World Bank. The databases provide economic, gender, health, education, and poverty statistics.

Professional Country Reports Restricted Resource
The PRS Group logo​Yearly country reports written by The Economist Intelligence Unit or The PRS Group provide in-depth economic analysis and forecasts of business and political trends.

CountryWatch Country Reviews Restricted Resource
Country Watch logo and linkAn up-to-date source of information on countries of the world. CountryWatch provides both basic statistic and in-depth information on political and social conditions.

Gapminder World
Gapminder logo and linkThe Gapminder World web tool creates custom interactive graphs based on international data sets. ​ Gapminder World How-to Video

CIA World Factbook Compiled by the CIA, The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Books, Reference, and Academic Journals
Academic journal articles provide in-depth research on specific topics.

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.

JSTOR Restricted Resource
JSTOR contains the complete backfiles of over 625 scholarly journals with well over 3 million articles available. Full text coverage varies by journal.


Project MUSE Restricted Resource
Project MuseProvides citations, abstracts, and full text to articles from journals that cover the "fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others".

References sources include encyclopedia entries, dictionaries, and other reference materials.

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource
Gale Virtual Reference Library logoGale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of full-text e-books that includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference books in biography, history, literature, medicine, and more.

Credo Reference Restricted Resource
Credo logoCredo Reference contains general and subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, bibliographies, chronologies, handbooks, atlases, and more.


You may also use books as sources for your presentation.  Books from the General Collection can be checked out for three weeks at a time, using your Normandale student ID.

Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 


The Combined Search searches books + databases.

Combined Search Unrestricted Resource

Library Combined Search helps find articles, books, and videos from the library collection.

 
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!
Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

                                


 
Luke Mosher
Reference & Instruction Librarian
luke.mosher@normandale.edu

Libby Merrill
Circulation, Reference and Instruction Librarian
libby.merrill@normandale.edu

Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Evaluate Source Credibility
Evaluate each source you use with CAPPS!
Consider the source's –
C = Currency
A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources
More info about CAPPS pdf
CAPPSQuestionsHandout.pdf pdf
Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Cite Your Sources (MLA)
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.

MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).


Powered by SubjectsPlus