Use this page to find resources for your Health Literacy assignment.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Contact the Library if you need any help!
These databases contain articles from health-related magazines and scholarly journals. You may not be able to find articles specific to a particular product, but you will be more likely to find information about the health problem or issue the product claims to relieve. Use this information to evaluate your product. Consider, for example, what medical research suggests is the best way to treat the problem. Does your product follow these recommendations?
Health & Wellness Resource Center
Provides citations, abstracts, and selected full text to articles about all aspects of health. Includes articles from newspapers, magazines, journals, and pamphlets as well as the following encyclopedias: * Clinical Reference Systems * Gale Encyclopedia of Childhood and Adolescence * Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine * PDR Family Guide to Nutrition and Health
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines covering health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
Consumer Health Complete
CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. Covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc. Provides full text for more than 200 health reference books and encyclopedias.
Health & Wellness Resource Center
Provides citations, abstracts, and selected full text to articles about all aspects of health. Includes articles from newspapers, magazines, journals, and pamphlets as well as the following encyclopedias: * Clinical Reference Systems * Gale Encyclopedia of Childhood and Adolescence * Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine * PDR Family Guide to Nutrition and Health Health Source: Consumer Edition
Provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines covering health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Consumer Health Complete
CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. Covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc. Provides full text for more than 200 health reference books and encyclopedias.
Consumer Reports on Health
Presents objective facts and clear recommendations to help you make smart decisions about your health--from nutrition and weight loss to prescription drugs, disease prevention, pain relief, and more.
ClinicalTrials.gov
A registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.
U. S. Food & Drug Administration (FDA)
Protecting the public health by assuring the safety, efficacy and security of human and veterinary drugs, biological products, medical devices, our nation’s food supply, cosmetics, and products that emit radiation.
Presents objective facts and clear recommendations to help you make smart decisions about your health--from nutrition and weight loss to prescription drugs, disease prevention, pain relief, and more.
ClinicalTrials.gov
A registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.
U. S. Food & Drug Administration (FDA)
Protecting the public health by assuring the safety, efficacy and security of human and veterinary drugs, biological products, medical devices, our nation’s food supply, cosmetics, and products that emit radiation.
(952) 358-8290
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Evaluating Internet Resources
Criteria to use when evaluating the quality of an Internet site
Evaluating Web Pages: Techniques to Apply & Questions to Ask
(from UC Berkeley)
Criteria to use when evaluating the quality of an Internet site
Evaluating Web Pages: Techniques to Apply & Questions to Ask
(from UC Berkeley)