Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Encyclopedias and Reference Sources
Opposing Viewpoints in Context Restricted Resource
Opposing Viewpoints in ContextOpposing Viewpoints in Context provides full-text articles and reference material on wide range of social issues.

Credo Reference Restricted Resource
Credo logoCredo Reference contains general and subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, bibliographies, chronologies, handbooks, atlases, and more.

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource
Gale Virtual Reference Library logoGale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of full-text e-books that includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference books in biography, history, literature, medicine, and more.

CQ Researcher Restricted Resource
CQCQ Researcher report is dedicated to a single topic and is researched and written by a journalist. Each report includes background and chronology, an assessment of the current situation, pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions, and bibliographies of further reading.
Academic Journals, Newspapers, and Magazines
Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.


Ebsco MegaFILE Restricted Resource
MegaFILE is comprised of EBSCO's Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, MasterFILE Premier, and Regional Business News databases. Full text is available for nearly 12,000 publications.

JSTOR Restricted Resource
JSTOR contains the complete backfiles of over 625 scholarly journals with well over 3 million articles available. Full text coverage varies by journal.

Project MUSE Restricted Resource
Project MuseProvides citations, abstracts, and full text to articles from journals that cover the "fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others".


ProQuest News & Newspapers Restricted Resource
Provides full text coverage of thousands of U.S. and international newspapers. Includes the former ProQuest Newsstand collection, now named Global Newsstream.



If you need to dig a little deeper for relevant statistics, try:
American FactFinder
Provides data supplied by the United States Census Bureau on housing, employment, demographics, business/industry and more. 

Combined Search

Library Combined Search helps find articles, books, and videos from the library collection.

 
Searches the library catalog (books) + multiple databases. Useful for searching databases you didn't think to look in.
Search for Books
Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 


 
Try Another Database
If you're having trouble finding what you're looking for in the chosen databases, try exploring some of our other databases. They're listed on the Normandale Library site by subject and alphabetically. 

Article Databases by Subject
All of the library's online collections, organized by subject.

 
Research Skills Videos

What Is a Library Database?


Video by Northeastern Illinois University Ronald Williams Library

Picking a Topic


Video by NC State University Libraries

Using Keywords in Databases


Video by California State University San Bernardino John M. Pfau Library

Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

 
Luke Mosher
Library Faculty - Reference & Instruction
952-358-9345
luke.mosher@normandale.edu

Lacey Mamak
Library Faculty - Electronic Resources/
Reference & Instruction
lacey.mamak@normandale.edu
Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Cite Your Sources (MLA)
MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.


Powered by SubjectsPlus