Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Reading Interest Groups: Find Articles
Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.

Points of View Reference Center Restricted Resource
Points of ViewPoints of View Reference Center contains issue overviews and controversial essays on multiple sides of a current issue.

ProQuest News & Newspapers Restricted Resource
Provides full text coverage of thousands of U.S. and international newspapers. Includes the former ProQuest Newsstand collection, now named Global Newsstream.

CQ Researcher Restricted Resource
CQCQ Researcher report is dedicated to a single topic and is researched and written by a journalist. Each report includes background and chronology, an assessment of the current situation, pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions, and bibliographies of further reading.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context Restricted Resource
Opposing Viewpoints in ContextOpposing Viewpoints in Context provides full-text articles and reference material on wide range of social issues.
 
Color of Water Assignment: Background Info
Use these resources to find general, background information.

Book Search Unrestricted Resource

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 


Britannica Academic (Encyclopedia Britannica) Restricted Resource
Encyclopedia BritannicaOnline version of the complete Encyclopædia Britannica providing coverage of most subjects. Also provides access to Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, Collegiate Thesaurus, and the Britannica Book of the Year.

Salem History Restricted Resource
Salem logoSalem History is an online database of full-text reference e-books and primary sources. Included are sources on American history, world history, historical events and periods, biographies, and more.

History E-book Collection (Gale Virtual Reference Library) Restricted Resource
A collection of e-books covering both American and world history topics.

Encyclopedia of African American History,1896 to the present: From the Age of Segregation to the Twenty-First Century
REF E185 .E533 2009 5v. Restricted Resource Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Focusing on the making of African American society from the 1896 "separate but equal" ruling of Plessy v. Ferguson up to the contemporary period, this encyclopedia traces the transition from the Reconstruction Era to the age of Jim Crow, the Harlem Renaissance, the Great Migration, the Brown ruling that overturned Plessy, the Civil Rights Movement, and the ascendant influence of African American culture on the American cultural landscape.

Encyclopedia of American Social Movements
REF HN57 .E538 2004 Restricted Resource Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Examines every social movement in American history, covering each movement's goals, tactics, and impact, as well as its successes and failures.

Extremist Groups: Information for Students
REF HN90.R3 E98 2006 Restricted Resource Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
This book provides an overview and history of 150 extremist organizations worldwide that are active today. The focus is on when and why the groups were established, their agendas and tactics, and government and civilan efforts to counter them.
IInfo dInformation for Students provides an overview and history of 150 extremist organizations worldwide that are active today. Arranged alphabetically by group across two volumes, entries average 32,000 words, follow a standard set of rubrics, and focus on when and why the groups were established, their agendas and tactics, and government and civilian efforts to counter them. - See more at: http://www.cengage.com/search/productOverview.do?Ntt=extremist+groups||21064377414577205068384629551033655593&N=197&Ntk=APG%7C%7CP_EPI&Ntx=mode%2Bmatchallpartial#sthash.yTFsDFjW.dpuf
ffffInformation for Students provides an overview and history of 150 extremist organizations worldwide that are active today. Arranged alphabetically by group across two volumes, entries average 32,000 words, follow a standard set of rubrics, and focus on when and why the groups were established, their agendas and tactics, and government and civilian efforts to counter them. - See more at: http://www.cengage.com/search/productOverview.do?Ntt=extremist+groups||21064377414577205068384629551033655593&N=197&Ntk=APG%7C%7CP_EPI&Ntx=mode%2Bmatchallpartial#sthash.yTFsDFjW.dpuf
Information for Students provides an overview and history of 150 extremist organizations worldwide that are active today. Arranged alphabetically by group across two volumes, entries average 32,000 words, follow a standard set of rubrics, and focus on when and why the groups were established, their agendas and tactics, and government and civilian efforts to counter them. - See more at: http://www.cengage.com/search/productOverview.do?Ntt=extremist+groups||21064377414577205068384629551033655593&N=197&Ntk=APG%7C%7CP_EPI&Ntx=mode%2Bmatchallpartial#sthash.yTFsDFjW.dpuf
Information for Students provides an overview and history of 150 extremist organizations worldwide that are active today. Arranged alphabetically by group across two volumes, entries average 32,000 words, follow a standard set of rubrics, and focus on when and why the groups were established, their agendas and tactics, and government and civilian efforts to counter them. - See more at: http://www.cengage.com/search/productOverview.do?Ntt=extremist+groups||21064377414577205068384629551033655593&N=197&Ntk=APG%7C%7CP_EPI&Ntx=mode%2Bmatchallpartial#sthash.yTFsDFjW.dpuf

 
New Encyclopedia of Judaism
REF BM50 .N49 2002 Restricted Resource Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Comprehensive one-volume encyclopedia that presents every aspect of the Jewish religion and represents current thinking among scholars in the Reform, Conservative, and Orthodox movements.
 
Find Web Resources
The Smithsonian -- Many of the Smithsonian museum websites have historical information.

Library of Congress Unrestricted Resource
Contains approximately 12 million records representing books, serials, computer files, manuscripts, cartographic materials, music, sound recordings, and visual materials.
Color of Water Assignment: Find Articles
Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.


ProQuest News & Newspapers Restricted Resource
Provides full text coverage of thousands of U.S. and international newspapers. Includes the former ProQuest Newsstand collection, now named Global Newsstream.

Daily Life through History Restricted Resource
Daily Life Through HistoryDaily Life Online is a database providing information on the daily lives of people around the world. The content includes books, articles, images, maps, primary documents, and more.


New York Times -- Historical (ProQuest) Restricted Resource
Full pages and article Images/library displayed in PDF format. Seachable full text back to the first issue.
Research Reminders
  • Spend time thinking about your topic and brainstorming related words and synonyms.
  • Research is a process. You probably won’t find everything you need on the first try.
  • If you can’t find much on your topic, try different keywords or a new database.
  • Try synonyms of your keywords to find more articles.
  • If you have questions about keywords or which databases to use, ask a librarian!
The following video also contains tips and tricks for navigating your research:

Choosing and Using Keywords


From the university library at California State University, San Bernardino.
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

Luke Mosher
Reference & Instruction Librarian
luke.mosher@normandale.edu

Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Evaluate Your Sources
Evaluating Internet Resources
Criteria to use when evaluating the quality of an Internet site 

Evaluating Web Pages: Techniques to Apply & Questions to Ask
(from UC Berkeley)
Evaluate Source Credibility
Evaluate each source you use with CAPPS!
Thumbnail image of CAPPS model. Click for larger image Consider the source's –
C = Currency
A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources

Click on the picture for more information.


Powered by SubjectsPlus