Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Find Evidence
These databases contain articles from health-related magazines and scholarly journals.  You may not be able to find articles specific to a particular product, but you will be more likely to find information about the health problem or issue the product claims to relieve. Use this information to evaluate your product. Consider, for example, what medical research suggests is the best way to treat the problem.  Does your product follow these recommendations?

Health & Wellness Resource Center Restricted Resource
Health and Wellness Resource Center logoProvides citations, abstracts, and selected full text to articles about all aspects of health. Includes articles from newspapers, magazines, journals, and pamphlets as well as the following encyclopedias: * Clinical Reference Systems * Gale Encyclopedia of Childhood and Adolescence * Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine * PDR Family Guide to Nutrition and Health

Consumer Health Complete Restricted Resource
Consumer Health CompleteCHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. Covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc. Provides full text for more than 200 health reference books and encyclopedias.

Natural Medicines (formerly Natural Standard) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Evidence-based information on dietary supplements (including herbs, vitamins, and minerals), functional foods, diets, complementary practices (modalities), exercises, and medical conditions.
Find More Evidence
Consumer Reports on Health Restricted Resource
Presents objective facts and clear recommendations to help you make smart decisions about your health--from nutrition and weight loss to prescription drugs, disease prevention, pain relief, and more.

ClinicalTrials.gov
A registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.

U. S. Food & Drug Administration (FDA)
Protecting the public health by assuring the safety, efficacy and security of human and veterinary drugs, biological products, medical devices, our nation’s food supply, cosmetics, and products that emit radiation.

MEDLINE/PubMed Unrestricted Resource
PubMed contains citations to articles in MEDLINE and other sources. Selected full text articles available. Click the Find Full Text button with the Normandale logo to see if the full text of the article is available in another database.
Google vs. the Library
Should you use Google or the library to find sources? Both have their place in research but watch this video from Northeastern Illinois University Library for more information.

Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

 

David Vrieze Daniels

Library Faculty - Reference & Instruction
david.vriezedaniels@normandale.edu
Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Evaluate Source Credibility
Evaluate each source you use with CAPPS!
Consider the source's –
C = Currency
A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources
More info about CAPPS pdf


Powered by SubjectsPlus