Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Explore Topics and Questions
Choosing a research question is a process of exploring what interests you. After choosing an initial topic, you may need to focus on just one small piece of it as you start your research. The key to choosing and researching any topic it to find something that is neither too broad or too narrow.

To help you understand the research cycle and how to choose an appropriate topic, watch this topic video from North Carolina State University Library.

As you think about research topics and the question you would like to answer, search in a library database to get more ideas:

Opposing Viewpoints in Context Restricted Resource
Opposing Viewpoints in ContextOpposing Viewpoints in Context provides full-text articles and reference material on wide range of social issues.

Credo Reference Restricted Resource
Credo logoCredo Reference contains general and subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, bibliographies, chronologies, handbooks, atlases, and more.



Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource
Gale Virtual Reference Library logoGale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of full-text e-books that includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference books in biography, history, literature, medicine, and more.
Find More Sources
For more in-depth research, try these databases:
Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.

Expanded Academic ASAP Restricted Resource
Expanded Academic ASAPExpanded Academic ASAP offers balanced coverage on a wide range of topics including social sciences, humanities, education, science and technology, current events, and international news. Over three thousand periodical titles are indexed, and over 2,000 of them include full-text articles.

JSTOR Restricted Resource
JSTOR contains the complete backfiles of over 625 scholarly journals with well over 3 million articles available. Full text coverage varies by journal.


Gale Literary Sources (formerly Artemis) Restricted Resource
Artemis logoGale Literary Sources searches all these literature resources at once: Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center, Litfinder, Scribner Writers Series, Twayne's Author Series, Something About the Author Online, and the Dictionary of Literary Biography.

Multicultural American Studies E-book Collection Restricted Resource
This ebook collection contains encyclopedias related to the study of multicultural America.

More Databases
Need more options? Take a look at the complete list of Normandale Library databases.
Find Books
Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 
Evaluate Source Credibility
Evaluate each source you use with CAPPS!
Consider the source's –
C = Currency
A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources
More info about CAPPS pdf
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us! Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

   

Mike Rybak
Reference & Instruction Librarian
mike.rybak@normandale.edu

Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Cite Your Sources (MLA)
MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.


Powered by SubjectsPlus