Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find resources for your research project.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Library Research
  1. Databases contain electronic versions of magazines, newspapers, academic journals, and encyclopedias. We call the terms you search these databases with keywords.
  2. You will search databases exactly like you search Google. However, there are a few differences:
    1. You search databases with topics (ideas, concepts) and nouns (person, place, thing).
    2. Shorten keywords to 1-4 words, not phrases or sentences like with Google.
    3. Writers might have written on your topic but not used your exact search terms. Think of synonyms or variations of a word for your terms and search with those too.


This video is a good intro to library research:




















Encyclopedias and Dictionaries - Broad Topics; People; Word Definitions
Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource
Gale Virtual Reference Library logoGale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of full-text e-books that includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference books in biography, history, literature, medicine, and more.


Credo Reference Restricted Resource
Credo logoCredo Reference contains general and subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, bibliographies, chronologies, handbooks, atlases, and more.



Articles - Newspapers, Magazines, Academic Journals - Specific Topics


Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.

Expanded Academic ASAP Restricted Resource
Expanded Academic ASAPExpanded Academic ASAP offers balanced coverage on a wide range of topics including social sciences, humanities, education, science and technology, current events, and international news. Over three thousand periodical titles are indexed, and over 2,000 of them include full-text articles.


Newspapers Only - Localized People and Events

US Newsstream (ProQuest) Restricted Resource
Provides full text coverage of national and leading regional papers such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA TODAY, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Atlanta Journal- Constitution, Barron's, The Boston Globe, The Guardian, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Washington Post.


Academic Journals Only - In-Depth Analysis by Experts

JSTOR Restricted Resource
JSTOR contains the complete backfiles of over 625 scholarly journals with well over 3 million articles available. Full text coverage varies by journal.


Project MUSE Restricted Resource
Project MuseProvides citations, abstracts, and full text to articles from journals that cover the "fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others".


Reporting on Current Events

CQ Researcher Restricted Resource
CQCQ Researcher report is dedicated to a single topic and is researched and written by a journalist. Each report includes background and chronology, an assessment of the current situation, pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions, and bibliographies of further reading.

Books

Book Search Unrestricted Resource

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 


Search Everything

Combined Search Unrestricted Resource

Library Combined Search helps find articles, books, and videos from the library collection.

 
Research Reminders
  • Research is a process. You probably won’t find everything you need on the first try. You may have to try several of these databases to find all the information you need.
  • If you can’t find much on your topic, try different keywords. Using synonyms or broader related terms can help you find more articles. As you research, be on the lookout for new keywords to use.
Choosing a Topic Is Research






 
Ask a Librarian *
Questions? Ask us! Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email



Luke Mosher
Library Faculty - Reference & Instruction
luke.mosher@normandale.edu
Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Cite Your Sources (MLA)
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.

MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).
Film Sources
Documentary films, historical footage, or news programs can also be good sources.  Search for information on your topic in the Library's streaming video database.

Films On Demand Restricted Resource

Kanopy Streaming Videos Restricted Resource


Powered by SubjectsPlus