Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Reference Sources - Foundational Information
These databases contain reference sources: encyclopedia articles, dictionary entries. You do not have to have any outside sources for your article review assignment. However, it's always a good idea to look at an encyclopedia article on your topic to get a good working knowledge of what your topic is.

Gale eBooks Restricted Resource
Gale eBooks logoGale eBooks is a collection of full-text e-books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books in biography, history, literature, medicine, and more.


Credo Reference Restricted Resource
Credo logoCredo Reference contains dictionaries, general and subject encyclopedias, biographies, handbooks, atlases, and more.

 
Find Articles
Article Review Assignment. For this assignment, you'll review an article related to integrative and holistic medicine on a topic that you're interested in. Use these databases to find articles.

Health Sciences Databases
CINAHL Plus with Full Text Restricted Resource
CINAHL PlusSearch 3,000+ journals in nursing and allied health back to 1937 covering nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, and consumer health. CINAHL includes health care books, dissertations, standards of practice, and evidence-based care sheets.


ScienceDirect College Ed.: Health & Life Sciences Journal Collection Restricted Resource
Science DirectThe Health & Life Sciences Journal Collection offers leading literature online in the health and life sciences, including health and nursing professions, biology, and environmental sciences.

Medical Database (ProQuest) Restricted Resource
Contains over 1,000 titles, with more than 910 medical titles in full text with abstracts and indexing from the National Library of Medicine's MEDLINE. Covers all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including cardiovascular diseases, pediatrics, neurology, respiratory diseases, dentistry, anesthesiology, and others. Includes all charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, and photos.

Alt HealthWatch Restricted Resource
Alt Health WatchProvides full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports covering complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.


Natural Medicines (formerly Natural Standard) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Evidence-based information on dietary supplements (including herbs, vitamins, and minerals), functional foods, diets, complementary practices (modalities), exercises, and medical conditions.

General Purpose Databases - try these if you aren't getting good results in the above databases.

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.

Academic OneFile (Gale) Restricted Resource
Academic OneFile (Gale)Academic OneFile offers sources on a wide range of topics from scholarly journals and magazines and newspapers.


JSTOR Restricted Resource
JSTOR contains hundreds of scholarly journals from all disciplines. Full text coverage varies by journal.
Database Searching

Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us! Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email


Luke Mosher

Library Faculty - Reference & Instruction
luke.mosher@normandale.edu

Chat with a Librarian
We're here to help!
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Cite Your Sources (MLA)
MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.
Cite Your Sources (APA)
APA Quick Guide
A guide to APA citation format based on the 6th edition of the APA Publication Manual.

APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
APA (American Psychological Association) is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page.


Powered by SubjectsPlus