Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Choose a Topic
Books are a good way to explore topic ideas and get background information. Look at the table of contents of these books to get topic ideas:

Bioethics (an ebook)

Biotechnology: In Context (an ebook)

Biotechnology: Changing Life Through Science (an ebook)

Note: these are not for finding your article. They are books to give you ideas for topics.
Find Articles
These databases will only search periodicals in science and medical fields.

General Science Collection Restricted Resource
General Science CollectionA collection of over 200 journals, providing researchers with the information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments.


Health Reference Center - Academic Restricted Resource
Health Reference Center Academic logoSearch for articles on medicine, nursing and allied health.


Science Reference Center Restricted Resource
Science Reference Center logo and linkScience Reference Center contains full text science-oriented content – academic journal articles, magazine articles, science encyclopedias, and images.


Science Magazine Restricted Resource
Science Magazine / AAASOnline version of the journal Science published by the AAAS.
Find More Articles
If you feel stuck, try the Library's Combined Search. Combined Search searches many of the library's databases at once. In order not to get too many results, be specific with your keywords!

Combined Search

Library Combined Search helps find articles, books, and videos from the library collection.

 
Videos
Watch these videos to learn more about the library and using library databases.

From Northeastern Illinois University:




From North Carolina State University Library:


From California State University, San Bernardino:

 
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!
 
Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

 
Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Evaluate Your Sources
Evaluating Internet Resources
Criteria to use when evaluating the quality of an Internet site 

Evaluating Web Pages: Techniques to Apply & Questions to Ask
(from UC Berkeley)

Evaluating Sources Chart
from Oakland University Libraries
Cite Your Sources (MLA)
MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.


Powered by SubjectsPlus