Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find resources for your Paris Peace Conference Simulation.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Find Resources on Japan & Atomic Weapons

Books & Films

The suggested subject headings listed below link you to a list of books and films available at the Normandale Library.  Books can be located on the shelves by call number. Streaming videos can be viewed directly from your computer or mobile device. 

Articles
 

History E-book Collection (Gale Virtual Reference Library) Restricted Resource
A collection of e-books covering both American and world history topics. In the "Search within History" box, type a key word or phrase, such as "atomic bomb." 

Search by key word or phrase (example: atomic bomb AND decision). You may also choose to limit the historical time period or to full text.

Salem History Restricted Resource
Salem logoSalem History is an online database of full-text reference e-books and primary sources. Included are sources on American history, world history, historical events and periods, biographies, and more. Select the title Defining Documents in American History: World War II; this volume has primary sources and analyses related to the atomic bomb.

ProQuest News & Newspapers Restricted Resource
Provides full text coverage of thousands of U.S. and international newspapers. Includes the former ProQuest Newsstand collection, now named Global Newsstream. Click on Advanced Search to search by date and read newspaper articles written during 1945.
Find Books
Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 
Find Background Information
Credo Reference Restricted Resource
Credo logoCredo Reference contains general and subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, bibliographies, chronologies, handbooks, atlases, and more.
Find Primary Sources
New York Times -- Historical (ProQuest) Restricted Resource
Full pages and article Images/library displayed in PDF format. Seachable full text back to the first issue. Click on Advanced Search to search by date and read articles from 1919.

Gale Student Resources in Context Restricted Resource
Student Resources in Context logoCovering history, literature, science, social studies, this database provides reference material, full-text periodicals and newspapers, primary sources, creative works, and multimedia, including hours of video and audio clips and podcasts. Click on Browse Topics, then on Word War I to see all document types about World War I, including a section of Primary Sources.

Salem History Restricted Resource
Salem logoSalem History is an online database of full-text reference e-books and primary sources. Included are sources on American history, world history, historical events and periods, biographies, and more. Use the search box on the left or click on a title (Defining Documents is a good one for this assignment!) to browse the articles available.

Daily Life through History Restricted Resource
Daily Life Through HistoryDaily Life Online is a database providing information on the daily lives of people around the world. The content includes books, articles, images, maps, primary documents, and more.  
Use Quick Search or click on Library to select document type and time period.

Chronicling America
Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersChronicling America is a website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages. It is sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress. You can search and view select newspaper pages from 1836-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) is a freely available collection of resources from libraries, archives, and museums.  It includes written works, art, records of American heritage, scientific resources, and primary sources.  Search by theme, location, or era. 
Find Secondary Sources




JSTOR Restricted Resource
JSTOR contains the complete backfiles of over 625 scholarly journals with well over 3 million articles available. Full text coverage varies by journal.
 

Interlibrary Loan
If there are books and/or articles that you need for your research that Normandale Library does not own, you can request them through Interlibrary Loan. It usually takes from 3 to 5 days for the requested material to arrive at Normandale Library. This service is free to faculty, staff, and students.

Blank Request Form (StarID login)

Follow the directions on the website to request the article.
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

 

Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.


Powered by SubjectsPlus