Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find resources for your Minnesota History course.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias can be a great way to begin research. Encyclopedia articles give a broad overview of a topic and will lead you to more specific sources.

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource
Gale Virtual Reference Library logoGale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of full-text e-books that includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference books in biography, history, literature, medicine, and more.

Credo Reference Restricted Resource
Credo logoCredo Reference contains general and subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, bibliographies, chronologies, handbooks, atlases, and more.
Articles for Historical Context
JSTOR Restricted Resource
JSTOR contains the complete backfiles of over 625 scholarly journals with well over 3 million articles available. Full text coverage varies by journal.


American History Restricted Resource
American political, military, social, and cultural history, with expanded coverage of American women’s history and U.S. government.  

African-American History Restricted Resource
500 years of African-American history.  

American Indian History Restricted Resource
15,000 years of American Indian history and culture.
Minnesota History: The Quarterly of the Minnesota Historical Society
Minnesota History is a peer-reviewed magazine, begun in 1915 and published by the Minnesota Historical Society Press.

Online Archive & Index

Print Archive & Index
Normandale Library owns print issues from 1925-present; ask for issues at the Circulation Desk. A print index for vols. 1-10 (1915-1929) is available in the Reference area of the Library, REF  F601  .I53  1915-1929.

Find Books
Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 


Normandale Library has a large collection of Minnesota-based books and materials.  Because books often have substantial bibliographies, they can lead you to other resources on your topic. Some books also contain primary sources; check within chapters or in appendices. The majority of Minnesota history books are in the call number range F601 - F615.
Combined Search
Combined Search Unrestricted Resource

Library Combined Search helps find articles, books, and videos from the library collection.

 


Combined Search is a broad and powerful search tool that searches the library's catalog + many databases. It can be a good place to begin searching to see what's out there, and a good place to return to once you have narrowed down your search topic. You can refine your search based on type (journal, encyclopedia, book or ebook, video, etc.) or discipline (history, education, economics, etc.), among other things.
Primary Resources for Minnesota History

Minnesota Historical Society: Collections Online
A searchable database of photographs, art and posters covering Minnesota history.

Digital Public Library of America Unrestricted Resource
The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) is a freely available collection of resources from libraries, archives, and museums.  It includes written works, art, records of American heritage, scientific resources, and primary sources.  Search by theme, location, or era. 

HathiTrust Digital Library
Digital collections of the libraries of major research universities.

Archives Unbound Restricted Resource
Archives UnboundArchives Unbound includes topically-focused digital collections of primary source material. These historical documents support research in history, political science, ethnic studies, and more. Normandale Library has access to three collections: The American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism, The Black Liberation Army and the Program of Armed Struggle, and “We Were Prepared for the Possibility of Death”: Freedom Riders in the South, 1961.  

Minnesota Reflections Unrestricted Resource
Minnesota Reflections, a product of the Minnesota Digital Library, contains more than 80,000 Images/library, maps, and documents from more than 125 of the state's cultural heritage organizations, offering resources on Minnesota history and geography.

Historical Newspapers
Minneapolis Tribune (Historical)
Full-text coverage of Minneapolis Tribune newspaper articles from 1867-1922, digitized by the Minnesota Historical Society.

Chronicling America Chronicling America is a product of the Library of Congress. Look to the left of the main search bar to narrow your results by state and date.
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!
Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

Luke Mosher
Reference & Instruction Librarian
luke.mosher@normandale.edu
 

Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Interlibrary Loan
Interlibrary Loan
If there are books and/or articles that you need for your research that Normandale Library does not own, you can request them through Interlibrary Loan. It usually takes from 3 to 5 days for the requested material to arrive at Normandale Library. This service is free to faculty, staff, and students.

Blank Request Form (StarID login)

Cite Your Sources (Choose 1 Style)
Your pick -- cite your sources following MLA, APA or Chicago citation rules; pick one of these three citation styles and stick to it. 


Powered by SubjectsPlus