Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find resources for your simulation on the American Revolution in NYC.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Find Books
Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 


Suggested Subject Headings:
Find Primary Sources

Gale Student Resources in Context Restricted Resource
Student Resources in Context logoCovering history, literature, science, social studies, this database provides reference material, full-text periodicals and newspapers, primary sources, creative works, and multimedia, including hours of video and audio clips and podcasts. Click on "Browse Topics," then on "American Revolution" to see all document types, including a section of primary sources.

Salem History Restricted Resource
Salem logoSalem History is an online database of full-text reference e-books and primary sources. Included are sources on American history, world history, historical events and periods, biographies, and more. Use the search box on the left or click on a title to browse the articles available (the sources pertaining to the American Revolution in Defining Documents and Milestone Documents are good options for this assignment).

Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy Unrestricted Resource
The Avalon Project provides access to primary source materials in the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. Includes documents from 3000 BCE - 21st Century.  Click "18th Century Documents" or browse the list of Document Collections for relevant primary sources.

Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) is a freely available collection of resources from libraries, archives, and museums.  It includes written works, art, records of American heritage, scientific resources, and primary sources.  Search by theme, location, or era.  Select New York as the location and the years of the American Revolution as the date.  You can also do a keyword search with the name of your role.

Daily Life through History Restricted Resource
Daily Life Through HistoryDaily Life Online is a database providing information on the daily lives of people around the world. The content includes books, articles, images, maps, primary documents, and more.  
On the left side, under "Browse Topics," select "The Age of Reason and Revolutions," then choose "Revolutionary America."  From here, you can look at a variety of documents, including primary sources like letters and newspapers. 

New York Public Library Digital Library Collection Unrestricted Resource
The Digital Library Collections provide the public with digital versions of books, manuscripts and photographs, representing a growing body of primary source material.


HathiTrust Digital Library Unrestricted Resource
Digital collections of the libraries of major research universities.


Massachusetts Historical Society Unrestricted Resource
The Massachusetts Historical Society features many primary resources including pictures, diaries, and political documents.


Library of Congress Unrestricted Resource
Contains approximately 12 million records representing books, serials, computer files, manuscripts, cartographic materials, music, sound recordings, and visual materials.
Find Secondary Sources
History E-book Collection (Gale Virtual Reference Library) Restricted Resource
A collection of e-books covering both American and world history topics.



JSTOR Restricted Resource
JSTOR contains the complete backfiles of over 625 scholarly journals with well over 3 million articles available. Full text coverage varies by journal.

Project MUSE Restricted Resource
Project MuseProvides citations, abstracts, and full text to articles from journals that cover the "fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others".
 

Interlibrary Loan
If there are books and/or articles that you need for your research that Normandale Library does not own, you can request them through Interlibrary Loan. It usually takes from 3 to 5 days for the requested material to arrive at Normandale Library. This service is free to faculty, staff, and students.

Blank Request Form (StarID login)

Follow the directions on the website to request the article.
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

 
Mike Rybak
Reference and Instruction Librarian
mike.rybak@normandale.edu
L2721


Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Cite Your Sources (Chicago)
Chicago Quick Guide (for Notes-Bibliography Style)
The Chicago style of citation uses numbered notes; either footnotes, which appear at the bottom of each page, or endnotes, which appear at the end of the paper.

Creating a Chicago-style Bibliography
This page explains how to format and write a Chicago-style bibliography. This other page on the website shows how to insert and shorten footnotes, and how to cite the same resource multiple times.


Powered by SubjectsPlus