Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Encyclopedias
Good background info; broad overviews of big topics.

Science E-book Collection (Gale Virtual Reference Library) Restricted Resource
This collection of reference e-books covers a broad range of science topics including biotechnology, chemistry, computer sciences, space sciences, and more.
Web Research
We live in the information age. The internet has lots of information and Google makes it easy to search. We recommend the CAPPS method for evaluating sources.

Consider the source's –
C = Currency - When was this written?
A = Author - Who wrote this and what are their credentials? 
P = Publication - Who published this and are they reputable?
P = Point of View - What is the purpose or point-of-view of the source?
S = Sources - Does the source cite their facts or have references?
More info about CAPPS pdf

For researching this assignment, the most important elements to look at are:

Publisher = who provides the content? 
  • Professional association, e.g. Minnesota Apple Gowers Association
  • University website, like the University of Minnsota.
  • Government departments - anything with a .gov domain name. The department should also be labeled at the top of the web page, e.g. USDA (U.S. Department of Agriculture).

Author = for single-author content, who wrote this? Are they an expert through education (professor, government employee) or have knowledge through experience (farmer, salesman, professional association member)? There should be biographical information for authors on the article, or easily accessible via author's website, twitter, etc.
Web - Government, Universities, Associations
Searching Tips
  • Helpful additions to search terms: Resources; university resources; Minnesota state resources; association; organization; guild. E.g., "Minnesota apple orchard resources" or "Minnesota apple association."
  • Look at who a webpage links to--will often link to other good resources.

Government Departments
Minnesota Department of Agriculture - info about aspects of farming, including:
  • Renewable/alternative energy sources
  • Government grants
  • Food (cider) licensing and sales
  • Tax information
Minnesota Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement - liquor laws (for hard cider). FAQ is here; law handbook is here.

Agriculture and Rural Issues - from Minnesota Legislature Library. Links to web sources about agricultural issues. 

Minnesota Legislature - "Links to the World" - State legislative library's website that links to various government departments and other government and law info, grouped by topic.

Office of Energy and Renewable Energy - Government department about renewable energy. Info on wind energy in Minnesota is here

Minnesota Commerce Department - Energy - Information about energy as related to businesses, including wind and solar energy. Agency in charge of energy is here.

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry - Building codes (for event barn and storage cooler). Building codes are here. Info for a "Place of Public Accomidation" (events) is here. Fact sheet for building event barns is here.


Universities

Farm Answers - project from University of Minnesota and US Department of Agriculture. GREAT source for general info about farming. Link takes you to site search. Alternative site search via Google is here (type in your topic in search bar, following "site:farmanswers.org"). 

University of Minnesota Extension - Provides educational resources for Minnesota communities and businesses. Information on managing a farm is here. Info for commercial fruit growers is here.

Penn State Extension - Educational resources for agriculture. Has a searchable database. Info for produce storage (coolers) is here. Info for deer fences is here

Minnesota Fruit Research - via University of Minnesota - Educational info.

Professional Organizations and Non-Profits

Minnesota Apple Growers Association - links to Minnesota suppliers, materials, equipment sellers.

Minnesota Food Association - Resources - Educational info and links to other resources.

Sustainable Farm Association of Minnesota - Educational info and links to other resources.

Clean Energy Project Builder - Links to businesses that build/install clean energy sources.
Business Databases
Business Source Premier Restricted Resource
Business Source PremierBusiness Source Premier covers all aspects of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, econometrics, economics, industry and market research reports. 4,500 titles indexed with over 3,600 available with full text. Includes peer-reviewed, scholarly publications, searchable references; trade journals, and monographs.


Business Collection Restricted Resource
Business Collection Business Collection contains over 4,000 business newspapers and trade publications covering areas such as accounting, economics, finance, and marketing.
Search (almost) Everything, books + articles
Combined Search

Library Combined Search helps find articles, books, and videos from the library collection.

 
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

 


Luke Mosher

Library Faculty - Reference & Instruction
luke.mosher@normandale.edu
Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Cite Your Sources (APA)
APA Quick Guide
A guide to APA citation format based on the 6th edition of the APA Publication Manual.

APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
APA (American Psychological Association) is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page.
Cite Your Sources (MLA)
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.

MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).


Powered by SubjectsPlus