Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Find Articles
Use library databases to find articles. Databases are like search engines but search primarily for magazine, newspaper, and journal articles. Each database will search different publications so if you don't find what you need on the first try, you might want to consider a different database.


General Databases (All Topics)

These databases each cover a large range of subjects and publications. They are a great starting point for your research.

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.

Expanded Academic ASAP Restricted Resource
Expanded Academic ASAPExpanded Academic ASAP offers balanced coverage on a wide range of topics including social sciences, humanities, education, science and technology, current events, and international news. Over three thousand periodical titles are indexed, and over 2,000 of them include full-text articles.

ProQuest News & Newspapers Restricted Resource
Provides full text coverage of thousands of U.S. and international newspapers. Includes the former ProQuest Newsstand collection, now named Global Newsstream.
 

Subject Databases

You will also need to use a subject-specific database. These specialized databases only contain articles in particular subject areas or disciplines. These databases often contain more in-depth or technical information than general databases. Trying different databases will give you different results.

Database Directory: Article Databases by Subject

Examples of Subject Databases

  • Educator's Reference Complete Restricted Resource
    Educator's Reference Complete logoA selection of more than 450 full-text academic journals, hundreds of full-text reports, and many premier reference sources. Included content focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education.
  • Medical Database (ProQuest) Restricted Resource
    Contains over 1,000 titles, with more than 910 medical titles in full text with abstracts and indexing from the National Library of Medicine's MEDLINE. Covers all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including cardiovascular diseases, pediatrics, neurology, respiratory diseases, dentistry, anesthesiology, and others. Includes all charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, and photos.
  • Business Insights: Essentials (Article Search) Restricted Resource
    Business Insights: Essentials logoBusiness Insights: Essentials provides access to full-text articles in many business newspapers and trade publications.
  • General Science Collection Restricted Resource
    General Science CollectionA collection of over 200 journals, providing researchers with the information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments.
Evaluating Websites
evaluating information posterPut websites you are considering using in your research assignments through the CRAP test!

CRAP Test form: Use this form to help you quickly evaluate the credibility of any website.

C = Currency

R = Reliability

A = Authority

P = Purpose

Poster by Dianne McKenzie
Research Reminders
  • Research is a process. You probably won’t find everything you need on the first try. You may have to try several of these databases to find all the information you need.
  • If you can’t find much on your topic, try different keywords. Using synonyms or broader related terms can help you find more articles. Read webpages about your topic to look for good keywords to use in your database searches.
  • If you have questions about keywords or which databases to use, ask a librarian!
Choosing and Using Keywords
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!
Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

librarian Lacey
Lacey Mamak
Electronic Resources/
Reference & Instruction Librarian
lacey.mamak@normandale.edu

Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Cite Your Sources (APA)
APA Quick Guide
A guide to APA citation format based on the 6th edition of the APA Publication Manual.

APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
APA (American Psychological Association) is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page.


Powered by SubjectsPlus