Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Find Facts and Statistics
Finding your irrefutible fact may take some patience. Here are some resources to help:

Try the resources on this research guide: Data & Statistics

US Data and Statistics: website with links to many different government datasets.

Pew Research Center Data: browse the datasets to see trends and data on many social and political topics.

Google Trends: search your topic see how often it has been searched on Google.

For business related topics, look for articles in this Business database:
Business Source Premier Restricted Resource
 

If your trend is very current or new, try looking at this Newspaper Database. Compare the number of recent news articles on your topic to the number of articles during previous years:
ProQuest News & Newspapers Restricted Resource
 
Still looking for your irrefutible fact? Try some of these.

Is your trend here in Minnesota? Try the resources on this guide: Minnesota Resources

Finding Trend Statistics: From Bristol Community College. **Note: You may not have access to all resources!

For more data resources, try this guide from Michigan State University: How to Find Data & Statistics. **Note: You may not have access to all resources!
Find Articles
Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.

Expanded Academic ASAP Restricted Resource
Expanded Academic ASAPExpanded Academic ASAP offers balanced coverage on a wide range of topics including social sciences, humanities, education, science and technology, current events, and international news. Over three thousand periodical titles are indexed, and over 2,000 of them include full-text articles.

Not finding what you need? Try another database!
Article Databases by Subject
All of the library's online collections, organized by subject.
Find Books
Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 
Research Reminders

Research Reminders

  • Research is a process. You probably won’t find everything you need on the first try. You may need to do multiple searches or read some background information about your topic before contining to search.
  • If you can’t find much on your topic, try different keywords. Using synonyms or broader and related terms can help you find more articles. As you research, be on the lookout for new keywords to use.


Library vs the web (from Northeastern Illinois University)




Choosing and Using Keywords




Choosing Keywords (From Northwestern University Library)


 
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

 
 

Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Evaluating Sources
evaluating information posterPut sources you are considering using in your research assignments through the CRAP test!

CRAP Test form: Use this form to help you quickly evaluate the credibility of any website.

C = Currency

R = Reliability

A = Authority

P = Purpose

Poster by Dianne McKenzie
Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Cite Your Sources (MLA)
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.

MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).


Powered by SubjectsPlus