Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find resources for your Academic Argument Essay.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Find Articles

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
A good place to start; this database has newspaper, magazine, and academic journal articles on many topics.

Permanent Article Links in Academic Search Premier: Click Permalink on the right-hand sidebar and copy the Permalink URL given. 



Expanded Academic ASAP Restricted Resource
An all-topics database with newspaper, magazine, and academic journal articles.

Permanent Article Links in Expanded Academic ASAP: Click the Bookmark icon at the top of the page and copy the Bookmark URL given.



ProQuest News & Newspapers Restricted Resource
This database has articles from thousands of U.S. and international newspapers.

Permanent Article Links in ProQuest News & Newspapers: Click the Abstract/Details tab and scroll down to the bottom of that page. Copy the Document URL given.



CQ Researcher (Topic List) Restricted Resource
CQ Researcher reports are in-depth summaries of current political and social issues that include background information, pro/con statements, and a bibliography of key sources.

Permanent Article Links in CQ Researcher: Follow these CQ Researcher linking directions.



Need more options? Try a different database. If you're not sure which one, ask a librarian!

Article Databases by Subject
All of the library's online collections, organized by subject.

Need instructions for permanent links in other databases?
See the Linking to Library Resources page for linking instructions for each database.
Find Books
If you are on campus, books are great for topic overviews that help you understand all sides of a controversial issue.
Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 
Brainstorm Keywords for Searching
Keywords are the words you use when you search for a topic. Brainstorm, including synonyms and related words, before you start researching your topic.


Video by California State University San Bernardino John M. Pfau Library
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!
Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

librarian Lacey
Lacey Mamak
Electronic Resources/
Reference & Instruction Librarian
lacey.mamak@normandale.edu

Kristin Hall
Reference & Instruction Librarian
kristin.hall@normandale.edu
952-358-9146
 

Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Cite Your Sources (MLA)
MLA Quick Guide

Your textbook, The Everyday Writer, also has all the information you will need to properly cite your sources in MLA style.


Powered by SubjectsPlus