Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Find Articles
Your assignment is to write an essay arguing for a pro or con position on a controversial topic. You will need to find information on a topic, as well as both pro and con positions that show both sides of the issue.Use library databases to find articles on your position.

Background Information - Searches best with single topics

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource
Gale Virtual Reference Library logoGale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of full-text e-books that includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference books in biography, history, literature, medicine, and more.

CQ Researcher Restricted Resource
CQCQ Researcher report is dedicated to a single topic and is researched and written by a journalist. Each report includes background and chronology, an assessment of the current situation, pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions, and bibliographies of further reading.

Pro/Con Argumentative Essays Searches best with single topics

Opposing Viewpoints in Context Restricted Resource
Opposing Viewpoints in ContextOpposing Viewpoints in Context provides full-text articles and reference material on wide range of social issues.

Points of View Reference Center Restricted Resource
Points of ViewPoints of View Reference Center contains issue overviews and controversial essays on multiple sides of a current issue.

Articles - Newspaper, Magazine, Academic Journals - Searches best with narrow topics or combined topics

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.

ProQuest News & Newspapers Restricted Resource
Provides full text coverage of thousands of U.S. and international newspapers. Includes the former ProQuest Newsstand collection, now named Global Newsstream.

Search Everything - Databases + Library Catalog

Combined Search Unrestricted Resource

Library Combined Search helps find articles, books, and videos from the library collection.

 
Evaluate Your Sources
Evaluate each source you use with CAPPS!
Consider the source's –
C = Currency - When was this written? Is it current enough?
A = Author - Who wrote this? Are they an expert? Do they have credentials?
P = Publication - Who published this? Are they well known or reliable? What is their mission? To entertain, inform, or persuade the reader?
P = Point of View - What is the purpose or point-of-view of the source? To inform, entertain, or persuade? Is there any bias? Do they present both sides of an issue?
S = Sources - Does the source cite their facts or have references? Where do they get their information? Are their references from trustworthy publications?
More info about CAPPS pdf

In our library instruction session on 11/27, we'll be evaluating the article “Juveniles Tried as Adults: What Happens When Children Go to Prison” by Caitlin Curley on GenFKD.com, which you can access here.
Get Research Tips
Watch these videos for more tips about doing research in the library:

How Should I Search in a Library Database? (from Northeastern Illinois University)


Evaluating Sources for Credibility (from North Carolina State University)


Choosing and Using Keywords (from California State University - San Bernardino)
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

 

Luke Mosher
Library Faculty - Reference & Instruction
952-358-9345
luke.mosher@normandale.edu

 
Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Cite Your Sources (MLA)
MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.
Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.


Powered by SubjectsPlus