Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Find Background Information
Use these databases to find articles on many current, social issues. These are good for finding background information.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Opposing Viewpoints in ContextOpposing Viewpoints in Context provides full-text articles and reference material on wide range of social issues such as immigration, abortion, animal rights, biomedical ethics, gun control, gangs, homelessness, gambling, homosexuality, human rights, Islam, the Middle East, and racism.


Points of View Reference Center
Points of ViewPoints of View Reference Center is a full text database designed to provide students with a series of controversial essays that present multiple sides of a current issue.


CQ Researcher
CQCQ Researcher reports provide "in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy." Each CQ Researcher report is researched and written by a journalist and includes a "background and chronology, an assessment of the current situation, tables and maps, pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions, and bibliographies of key sources."
Find Articles
Use the library's online databases to find all types of articles. Scholarly journal articles (also called "peer-reviewed") reflect the latest research of experts in a field. They are often very specific, complex, and include substantial bibliographies. Non-scholarly articles (also called "popular press") are usually magazine and newspaper articles, written for the general public in a relatively short, easy-to-read format without bibliographies.

If an article you like does not appear in full text, click on the "Find Full Text" link to see if the full text is available in another database.

Combined Search

Library Combined Search helps find articles, books, and videos from the library collection.

 

Note: Combined Search will search many of our databases at the same time. Be specific when searching to get the best results. Use the keywords you brainstormed in class to make your search more specific.
Another way to find articles is to search one database at a time. Try one listed below for an alternative to Combined Search. Remember to use your keywords to get the best results.

Academic Search Premier
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.

Expanded Academic ASAP
Expanded Academic ASAPExpanded Academic ASAP offers balanced coverage on a wide range of topics including social sciences, humanities, education, science and technology, current events, and international news. Over three thousand periodical titles are indexed, and over 2,000 of them include full-text articles.
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!
 

Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

 
Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Cite Your Sources (MLA)
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.

MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).


Powered by SubjectsPlus