CQ Researcher reports provide "in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy." Each CQ Researcher report is researched and written by a journalist and includes a "background and chronology, an assessment of the current situation, tables and maps, pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions, and bibliographies of key sources."
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Opposing Viewpoints in Context provides full-text articles and reference material on wide range of social issues such as immigration, abortion, animal rights, biomedical ethics, gun control, gangs, homelessness, etc.
Credo Reference contains general and subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, bibliographies, chronologies, handbooks, atlases, and more.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of full-text e-books that includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference books in biography, history, literature, medicine, and more.
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.
Expanded Academic ASAP
Expanded Academic ASAP offers balanced coverage on a wide range of topics including social sciences, humanities, education, science and technology, current events, and international news. Over three thousand periodical titles are indexed, and over 2,000 of them include full-text articles.
JSTOR contains the complete backfiles of over 625 scholarly journals with well over 3 million articles available. Full text coverage varies by journal.
ProQuest News & Newspapers
Provides full text coverage of thousands of U.S. and international newspapers. Includes the former ProQuest Newsstand collection, now named Global Newsstream.
Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.
Still stuck? The Library has lots of databaes. Try looking in this list for more options:
Article Databases by Subject
All of the library's online collections, organized by subject.
Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!(952) 358-8290
Library Faculty - Reference & Instruction
Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.
Consider the source's –
A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.
APA Quick Guide
A guide to APA citation format based on the 6th edition of the APA Publication Manual.
APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
APA (American Psychological Association) is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page.
Smart Mouth: A Public Speaking Tutorial
This tutorial explains how to find sources and integrate them into your speech. The Documentation & Plagiarism section covers how to use oral citations and gives examples. Created by Austin Community College District.