Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Find Name Resources
Behind the Name: First Names
A name-meaning website for first names.

Behind the Name: Last Names
A name-meaning website for last names.

Library Books About Names
Books about names in the Normandale Library collection.
Find Day-in-History Resources
Use these websites to find events in history. Look for your birthday and read about what happened on your birth date throughout history.

History Channel's This Day in History

Historynet.com's Today in History

The Library of Congress's American Memory: Today in History

New York Times's On This Day
Find 'How-To' Resources
Instructables
"Instructables is a web-based documentation platform where passionate people share what they do and how they do it, and learn from and collaborate with others."

eHow
A website devoted to how-to articles and tutorial videos on a wide variety of topics.

Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 
Search for "how things work" to find several books with this title. Or search for a specific item (car engines) or theory (gravity) to find books about it.
Find Background Information
Opposing Viewpoints in Context Restricted Resource
Opposing Viewpoints in ContextOpposing Viewpoints in Context provides full-text articles and reference material on wide range of social issues such as immigration, abortion, animal rights, biomedical ethics, gun control, gangs, homelessness, gambling, homosexuality, human rights, Islam, the Middle East, and racism. Click on Browse Issues to find your topic and related articles. Or use the search box at the top of the screen.

CQ Researcher Restricted Resource
CQCQ Researcher reports provide "in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy." Each CQ Researcher report is researched and written by a journalist and includes a "background and chronology, an assessment of the current situation, tables and maps, pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions, and bibliographies of key sources."
Find Articles
Combined Search

Library Combined Search helps find articles, books, and videos from the library collection.

 

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.

Expanded Academic ASAP Restricted Resource
Expanded Academic ASAPExpanded Academic ASAP offers balanced coverage on a wide range of topics including social sciences, humanities, education, science and technology, current events, and international news. Over three thousand periodical titles are indexed, and over 2,000 of them include full-text articles.

Find Newspapers
Links to all of the Library's newspaper databases.
Find Statistics

Statistical Abstract of the United States
REF HA202 .A3822 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. compiles statistics on the social, political, and economic aspects of life in the United States. This resource is published every February and covers the previous year.



Opposing Viewpoints in Context Restricted Resource
Opposing Viewpoints in ContextOpposing Viewpoints in Context provides full-text articles and reference material on wide range of social issues such as immigration, abortion, animal rights, biomedical ethics, gun control, gangs, homelessness, gambling, homosexuality, human rights, Islam, the Middle East, and racism.
To find Statistics go to the 'More' option above the search box and select 'Statistics'.

Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!
Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

 
 

Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Cite Your Sources
APA Quick Guide
A guide to APA citation format based on the 6th edition of the APA Publication Manual.

APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
APA (American Psychological Association) is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page.


Powered by SubjectsPlus