Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Find a Topic and Background Information
Before starting your research, take time to explore potential topics. Browse these resources to explore topic ideas and get background information on a topic. These are great places to start your research.

Science E-book Collection (Gale Virtual Reference Library) Restricted Resource
This collection of reference e-books covers a broad range of science topics including biotechnology, chemistry, computer sciences, space sciences, and more.

Science Magazine Restricted Resource
Science Magazine / AAASOnline version of the journal Science published by the AAAS.


ScienceNews: Magazine of the Society for Science and the Public
A news magazine and website that cover important and emerging research in all fields of science.
Find Articles
Use article databases to search for magazine, news, and journal articles. Generally, these articles will include more in-depth information on your topic and are a great place to continue your research.

General Science Collection Restricted Resource
General Science CollectionA collection of over 200 journals, providing researchers with the information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments.

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.

Science Reference Center
Science Reference Center logo and linkScience Reference Center contains full text science-oriented content – academic journal articles, magazine articles, science encyclopedias, and images.

Science & Technology Databases
All library databases focusing on the sciences. Go to this list to find additional databases.
Research Reminders

Research Reminders

  • Research is a process. You probably won’t find everything you need on the first try. You may need to do multiple searches or read some background information about your topic before contining to search.
  • If you can’t find much on your topic, try different keywords. Using synonyms or broader related terms can help you find more articles. As you research, be on the lookout for new keywords to use.

Choosing a Topic Is Research




Choosing and Using Keywords

Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

 
 
Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Find Web Resources
Science.gov
A gateway to authoritative, selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results.
Cite Your Sources (MLA)
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.

MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).


Powered by SubjectsPlus