Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research materials for your Poster Session assignment.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Find Articles
Encyclopedias articles provide broad topic overviews.  They can be helpful when first starting research, as they often supply definitions of terms or ideas.  

Environment E-book Collection (Gale Virtual Reference Library) Restricted Resource
This collection contains encyclopedias and reference books in a variety of environmental topics including climate change, pollution, recycling, alternative energy, and more.

Salem Science Restricted Resource
Salem logoSalem Science provides full-text coverage of reference books on earth science, energy, the environment, and more.

 

Articles from scholarly journals are written by scientists and reflect the latest research in the field. 

ScienceDirect College Ed.: Health & Life Sciences Journal Collection Restricted Resource
Science DirectThe Health & Life Sciences Journal Collection offers leading literature online in the health and life sciences, including health and nursing professions, biology, and environmental sciences.

General Science Collection Restricted Resource
General Science CollectionA collection of over 200 journals, providing researchers with the information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments.

Science Reference Center Restricted Resource
Science Reference Center logo and linkScience Reference Center contains full text science-oriented content – academic journal articles, magazine articles, science encyclopedias, and images.

Science Magazine Restricted Resource
Science Magazine / AAASOnline version of the journal Science published by the AAAS.


Environmental Science and Technology Restricted Resource
Environmental Science & Technology (ES&T) is an authoritative source of information for professionals in a wide range of environmental disciplines. The journal combines magazine and research sections and is published both in print and online.
Find Websites
Websites can have valuable information, provided they are authored and published by credible people or organizations.  Below are some suggest web sources.  If you search online on your own, be sure to use the CRAP Test in the box to the right. 

Science.gov
A gateway to authoritative, selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results.

USGS Forest and Rangeland Ecosystem Science Center
The Forest and Rangeland Ecosystem Science Center provides scientific understanding and the technology needed to support sound management and conservation of our nation's natural resources, with emphasis on western ecosystems.

Environmental Protection Agency
Website of the US Environmental Protection Agency. Includes information on many aspects of environmental science.
Cite Your Sources
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.

APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
APA (American Psychological Association) is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page.
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

 
 
Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Evaluating Websites
evaluating information posterPut websites you are considering using in your research assignments through the CRAP test!

CRAP Test form: Use this form to help you quickly evaluate the credibility of any website.

C = Currency

R = Reliability

A = Authority

P = Purpose

Poster by Dianne McKenzie


Powered by SubjectsPlus