Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Browse for Topic Ideas


Multicultural American Studies E-book Collection Restricted Resource
This ebook collection contains encyclopedias related to the study of multicultural America.

Digital Public Library of America Unrestricted Resource
The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) is a freely available collection of resources from libraries, archives, and museums.  It includes written works, art, records of American heritage, scientific resources, and primary sources.  Search by theme, location, or era. 

 
Find Background Information
CQ Researcher Restricted Resource
CQCQ Researcher reports provide "in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy." Each CQ Researcher report is researched and written by a journalist and includes a "background and chronology, an assessment of the current situation, tables and maps, pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions, and bibliographies of key sources."

Credo Reference Restricted Resource
Credo logoCredo Reference contains general and subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, bibliographies, chronologies, handbooks, atlases, and more.

Britannica Academic (Encyclopedia Britannica) Restricted Resource
Encyclopedia BritannicaOnline version of the complete Encyclopædia Britannica providing coverage of most subjects. Also provides access to Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, Collegiate Thesaurus, and the Britannica Book of the Year.

 
Research Reminders
  • Research is a process. You probably won’t find everything you need on the first try. You may have to try several of these databases to find all the information you need.
  • If you can’t find much on your topic, try different keywords. Using synonyms or broader related terms can help you find more articles. As you research, be on the lookout for new keywords to use.
Choosing and Using Keywords
What is a Scholarly Source?
Scholarly sources, sometimes referred to as an academic source, are articles written by experts, scholars or researchers and are published for other experts, scholars, researchers and students. The articles are published in scholarly journals and the information is often peer-reviewed by experts in that field. When peer-reviewed, the information and research is evaluated and assessed for quality before it is published. The author and authors are presenting new information to the reader that was usually created by a research study where they collected data through research methods.
Journals
American Anthropologist
American Anthropologist is the journal of the American Anthropological Association (AAA). It is known for publishing a wide range of work in anthropology, including articles on cultural, biological and linguistic anthropology and archeology. Coverage 2009-2011.
Note: 01/01/2009-12/31/2011


 
Find Primary Sources in Databases
Many library databases contain primary sources. Use the following databases to help you search for primary sources.

Ancient & Medieval History Restricted Resource
Ancient and Medieval HistoryCovering prehistory through the 1500s, Ancient and Medieval History provides coverage of nine civilizations—ancient Egypt, ancient Mesopotamia, ancient Greece, ancient Rome, ancient and medieval Africa, medieval Europe, the Americas, ancient and medieval Asia, and Islamic Empire. This database also features biographies, original maps and charts, timelines, and primary sources.

Salem History Restricted Resource
Salem logoSalem History is an online database of full-text reference e-books and primary sources. Included are sources on American history, world history, historical events and periods, biographies, and more.

Daily Life through History Restricted Resource
Daily Life Through HistoryDaily Life Online is a database providing information on the daily lives of people around the world. The content includes books, articles, images, maps, primary documents, and more.

New York Times -- Historical (ProQuest) Restricted Resource
Full pages and article Images/library displayed in PDF format. Seachable full text back to the first issue.

Artstor Restricted Resource
ARTstorArtstor is a cross-disciplinary image database. It offers collections of approximately 300,000 art images and descriptive information covering art, architecture and archeology. ARTstor's accompanying software tools will support a wide range of pedagogical and research uses including: viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline.

Gale Student Resources in Context Restricted Resource
Student Resources in Context logoCovering history, literature, science, social studies, this database provides reference material, full-text periodicals and newspapers, primary sources, creative works, and multimedia, including hours of video and audio clips and podcasts.

Find more database options here: Primary Sources Databases
Here you will find a list of online databases to help you find primary source documents, images, newspapers, photographs, transcripts, maps and more.
Evaluate Your Sources
Evaluating Internet Resources
Criteria to use when evaluating the quality of an Internet site 

Evaluating Web Pages: Techniques to Apply & Questions to Ask
(from UC Berkeley)

Evaluating Sources Chart
from Oakland University Libraries
 
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

 
Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Cite Your Sources (MLA)
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.

MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).
Cite Your Sources (APA)
APA Quick Guide
A guide to APA citation format based on the 6th edition of the APA Publication Manual.

APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
APA (American Psychological Association) is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page.


Powered by SubjectsPlus