Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Find Background Information
Article databases search for journal, magazine, and newspaper articles. Use these databases to find background information on your topic. These are good places to find broad information relating to your topic. You will not use these to find specific, regional information on your topic.

Credo Reference Restricted Resource
Credo logoCredo Reference contains general and subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, bibliographies, chronologies, handbooks, atlases, and more. ​

ProQuest News & Newspapers Restricted Resource
Provides full text coverage of thousands of U.S. and international newspapers. Includes the former ProQuest Newsstand collection, now named Global Newsstream. ​


Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.


JSTOR Restricted Resource
JSTOR contains the complete backfiles of over 625 scholarly journals with well over 3 million articles available. Full text coverage varies by journal.

 
You can also look for books to find background information on your topic. Books will help give you an overall picture of your topic or problem. Instead of finding information on your local problem in a book, look for books on the wider issue.

Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 
USA Statistics and Demographics
US Census Bureau Unrestricted Resource
The US Census includes statistics and other information about health, wages, business, education, housing, and more.   
Resources on Business, Labor, and the Economy
Bureau of Labor Statistics Unrestricted Resource
"The Bureau of Labor Statistics is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics."

United States Census: Poverty Unrestricted Resource
The USA Census keeps detailed information about poverty as well as other wage and income data. 

Films on Demand: Business & Economics Restricted Resource
Films and videos covering the topics of business and economics.

Economics A - Z Unrestricted Resource
Definitions of economic terms and concepts.

Business Source Premier Restricted Resource
Business Source PremierBusiness Source Premier covers all aspects of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, econometrics, economics, industry and market research reports. 4,500 titles indexed with over 3,600 available with full text. Includes peer-reviewed, scholarly publications, searchable references; trade journals, and monographs.

Small Business Association, Marketing Sales Unrestricted Resource
Note: Information to help you get started on a marketing plan. Some articles on industries.
Resources on Education
US Department of Education Unrestricted Resource
The Department of Education includes information on school performance, education policies (laws), and teaching initiatives for all levels of formal education.  

Encyclopedia of Education
REF LB15 .E63 2003 Unrestricted Resource Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Edition offers a complete view of the institutions, people, processes, roles and philosophies found in educational practice in the United States and throughout the world. 8 volumes.

National Center for Education Statistics Unrestricted Resource
This official agency site includes: Education Statistics at a Glance which is comprised of The Condition of Education, The Digest of Education Statistics, and Projections of Education Statistics. In addition, there is a searchable database of NCES tables and figures. This search tool lets the user locate all tables/figures published in the inventory of NCES' "Education Statistics Quarterly"; the NEDRC (National Education Data Resource Center) Postsecondary Table Library; and many NCES publications.
Note: 1990 -

Films on Demand: Education Restricted Resource
Films and  videos covering education topics.


Chronicle of Higher Education Restricted Resource
Full text of the daily newspaper of higher education.

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) Unrestricted Resource
This link provides access to the ERIC database available from the U.S. Dept. of Education through the web. ERIC indexes two types of materials: articles that have been published in education journals, and unpublished documents.
Note: 1966 - present.

The Center for Leadership Education in Maternal and Child Public Health Unrestricted Resource
The Center for Leadership Education in Maternal and Child Public Health is committed to improving the health of children, women and families. Center faculty and staff offer a Master's degree in Public Health (including an online degree program), continuing professional education, and consultation and technical assistance to community based organizations and agencies. Center faculty are involved in research in child health, adolescent health, family health, health disparities, reproductive health, and women's health.
Research Reminders
  • Research is a process. You probably won’t find everything you need on the first try. You may have to try several of these databases to find all the information you need.

 
Keywords

Choosing and Using Keywords: 
  • If you can’t find much on your topic, try different keywords. Using synonyms or broader related terms can help you find more articles. As you research, look for new keywords to try.

Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

 

David Vrieze Daniels

Library Faculty - Reference & Instruction
david.vriezedaniels@normandale.edu
Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Evaluate Source Credibility
Evaluate each source you use with CAPPS!
Consider the source's –
C = Currency
A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources
More info about CAPPS pdf
Cite Your Sources (MLA)
MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.
 


Powered by SubjectsPlus