Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Genre Stories
For this assignment, you'll find one short story in the genre of science fiction, fantasy, horror, or mystery/detective fiction to read. You will write a summary and analysis, incorporating how the story uses the themes of the genre. 

Encyclopedia Articles - encyclopedia articles give broad overview of topics. These entries will tell you about each genre.
Science Fiction and Fantasy - discusses both
Science Fiction
Fantasy
Mystery and Detective Fiction
Horror Fiction
The Development of the Short Story - history of the short story in U.S. literature.
History of the Short Story - includes history of the short story in other countries.

Short Stories in the Library - click through to a list of books at the library that are collected genre short stories. A few of these are online-only content.
Fantasy story collections
Science fiction story collections
The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction - online-only magazine with fantasy and sci-fi stories; browse-able by year and issue (click on the years on the right).
Mystery and detective story collections
Best American Mystery Stories - an annual book anthology published with the best American mystery stories published that year.
Horror story collections 
LitFinder - an online database that has lots of short stories. Searchable by author, title, or genre.
Book Search Unrestricted Resource

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 


Literary Analysis Examples
These are sources on Edgar Allen Poe's "The Murders in the Rue Morgue," which is an early example of a detective story.

"The Murders in the Rue Morgue." Short Stories for Students, edited by Sara Constantakis, vol. 34, Gale, 2012, pp. 176-203. Gale eBooks, https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX1999400020/GVRL?u=mnanorman&sid=GVRL&xid=8cf9be67. Accessed 30 Oct. 2019.
  • This is an encyclopedia entry on "The Murders in the Rue Morgue." On the right side of the page is a table of contents. The section titled "Criticism" includes two essays that are literary analysis of the story.

Martin, Terry J. “Detection, Imagination, and the Introduction to ‘The Murders in the Rue Morgue.’” Modern Language Studies, vol. 19, no. 4, 1989, pp. 31–45. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3194774.
  • This is an academic article (an article written by a scholar and published in an academic journal) that is a literary analysis of the story, which focuses on the themes of detection and imagination in the story. This is the kind of essay that you will be writing in upper-level literature classes, as well as the kind of source you will be using to research and write your essays.

Literature Databases
These are databases that contain academic articles on literature. The best way to search is by the title of the story/novel/poem. If you get too many results, you can add the author's name.

Gale Literary Sources (formerly Artemis) Restricted Resource
Artemis logoGale Literary Sources searches all these literature resources at once: Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center, Litfinder, Scribner Writers Series, Twayne's Author Series, Something About the Author Online, and the Dictionary of Literary Biography.
Salem Literature Restricted Resource
Salem LiteratureThe Salem Literature provides full-text reference coverage of literary themes and prominent authors, as well as analyses of notable books and poetry.


JSTOR Restricted Resource
JSTOR contains the complete backfiles of over 625 scholarly journals with well over 3 million articles available. Full text coverage varies by journal. - has all kinds of journals, including literature journals.

Project MUSE Restricted Resource
Project MuseProvides citations, abstracts, and full text to articles from journals that cover the "fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others". - has all kinds of journals, including literature journals.


 
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

 

Luke Mosher
Faculty Librarian - Reference, Instruction, & Acquisitions
luke.mosher@normandale.edu

Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Cite Your Sources (MLA)
MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.


Powered by SubjectsPlus