Book Search

Note: Books from the General Collection may be checked out for three weeks (and renewed up to two times).

Gale Virtual Reference Library
In this e-book database, you can do your own keyword search or take a look at the books in the Science section by clicking on "Science" on the right side.
(Also, searching the Subject Heading of "Animal Welfare," will be particularly helpful for Paper #3.)

Credo Reference -- Science
Browse the science section in Credo, a collection of electronic reference books, to find information on specific animals. (Ex. Animals: A Visual Encyclopedia, Encyclopedia of Insects, Princeton Encyclopedia of Mammals)
 

For Paper #2: These science-focused databases that are helpful for finding information about maligned animals. 

• Science Reference Center
  Science Reference Center contains full text science-oriented content – academic journal articles, magazine articles, science encyclopedias, and images.
• General Science Collection
  A collection of over 200 journals, providing researchers with the information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments.
• Science Magazine
  Online version of the journal Science published by the AAAS.

 

---

For Paper #3: These databases connect you with information about current and controversial social topics.  Look for pages that are relevant to issues about animals.

• Opposing Viewpoints in Context -- The pages on Animal Experimentation and Animal Rights might be a good place to start.
• Points of View Reference Center -- Hint: check out the Animal Welfare section under the "Browse by Category" list. You'll find topic pages on factory farming, hunting, and more.

---

These general databases provide access to a range of topics from various sources that you can use for any of your papers this semester. Start with one or more keywords and limit your search by date, source type, etc.

• Expanded Academic ASAP
  Expanded Academic ASAP offers balanced coverage on a wide range of topics including social sciences, humanities, education, science and technology, current events, and international news. Over three thousand periodical titles are indexed, and over 2,000 of them include full-text articles.
• Academic Search Premier
  Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.

When starting research, we often go straight to Google. Watch this video from Northeastern Illinois University to see how the internet and Google compare to the library's resources:

Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

  Chat with a Librarian 24/7

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.

MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).