Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Find Newspaper Articles
Use ProQuest News & Newspapers or Minnesota Sources (Newsbank) to search for your initial newspaper article or editorial. You can search by topic (ex. Ebola outbreak, Vikings stadium) or by publication (ex. Star Tribune, New York Times). Be sure to limit the dates of your search to the last month. 
  • ProQuest News & Newspapers Restricted Resource
    Provides full text coverage of thousands of U.S. and international newspapers. Includes the former ProQuest Newsstand collection, now named Global Newsstream.
  • Minnesota Sources (Newsbank) Restricted Resource
    A collection of close to 100 news sources from around the state including newspapers, videos, web-only content and journalistic blogs.
Find Additional Articles & Sources
Academic Search Premier and Expanded Academic ASAP allow you search for additional articles on your topic from scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and other sources. 
  • Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
    Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.
  • Expanded Academic ASAP Restricted Resource
    Expanded Academic ASAPExpanded Academic ASAP offers balanced coverage on a wide range of topics including social sciences, humanities, education, science and technology, current events, and international news. Over three thousand periodical titles are indexed, and over 2,000 of them include full-text articles.

Opposing Viewpoints and CQ Researcher connect you with in depth information on topics that are controversial or recently in the news. Browse by topic to locate research pages that link you to articles, statistics, etc.
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context Restricted Resource
    Opposing Viewpoints in ContextOpposing Viewpoints in Context provides full-text articles and reference material on wide range of social issues.
  • CQ Researcher Restricted Resource
    CQCQ Researcher report is dedicated to a single topic and is researched and written by a journalist. Each report includes background and chronology, an assessment of the current situation, pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions, and bibliographies of further reading.
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!
 

Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Cite Your Sources (MLA)
Most library databases have a citation feature that allows you to gather an auto-generated MLA citation for each article.  Use the MLA guides below to double check the accuracy of the citation and to compile your final Works Cited page.

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.

MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).


Powered by SubjectsPlus