Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Reference databases search online encyclopedias and dictionaries to provide background information and overviews of topics.
Credo Reference
Credo Reference contains general and subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, bibliographies, chronologies, handbooks, atlases, and more.
Credo Reference
Credo Reference contains general and subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, bibliographies, chronologies, handbooks, atlases, and more.
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.
Expanded Academic ASAP
Expanded Academic ASAP offers balanced coverage on a wide range of topics including social sciences, humanities, education, science and technology, current events, and international news. Over three thousand periodical titles are indexed, and over 2,000 of them include full-text articles.
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers. Expanded Academic ASAP
Expanded Academic ASAP offers balanced coverage on a wide range of topics including social sciences, humanities, education, science and technology, current events, and international news. Over three thousand periodical titles are indexed, and over 2,000 of them include full-text articles.
What are the library databases and which one should I use? (from Northeastern Illinois University)
Choosing and Using Keywords (from California State University - San Bernardino)
Choosing and Using Keywords (from California State University - San Bernardino)
Ask Us
(952) 358-8290
Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!
(952) 358-8290
Mike Rybak
Reference & Instruction Librarian
mike.rybak@normandale.edu
mike.rybak@normandale.edu
Chat with a Librarian 24/7
Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.
MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.
MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).
APA Quick Guide
A guide to APA citation format based on the 6th edition of the APA Publication Manual.
APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
APA (American Psychological Association) is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page.
A guide to APA citation format based on the 6th edition of the APA Publication Manual.
APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
APA (American Psychological Association) is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page.
Chicago Quick Guide
A guide to Chicago-style citations (both footnote-bibliography and author-date). Each example shows a full note, shortened note, and bibliography entry.
Creating a Chicago-style Bibliography
This page explains how to format and write a Chicago-style bibliography. This other page on the website shows how to insert and shorten footnotes, and how to cite the same resource multiple times.
A guide to Chicago-style citations (both footnote-bibliography and author-date). Each example shows a full note, shortened note, and bibliography entry.
Creating a Chicago-style Bibliography
This page explains how to format and write a Chicago-style bibliography. This other page on the website shows how to insert and shorten footnotes, and how to cite the same resource multiple times.