Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Find Articles
PubMed/MEDLINE
PubMed contains citations to articles in MEDLINE and other sources. Selected full text articles available. Click the Find Full Text button with the Normandale logo to see if the full text of the article is available in another database.


ScienceDirect College Ed.: Health & Life Sciences Journal Collection Restricted Resource
Science DirectThe Health & Life Sciences Journal Collection offers leading literature online in the health and life sciences, including health and nursing professions, biology, and environmental sciences.


Medical Database (ProQuest) Restricted Resource
Contains over 1,000 titles, with more than 910 medical titles in full text with abstracts and indexing from the National Library of Medicine's MEDLINE. Covers all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including cardiovascular diseases, pediatrics, neurology, respiratory diseases, dentistry, anesthesiology, and others. Includes all charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, and photos.


Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.
 

Science Magazine Restricted Resource
Science Magazine / AAASOnline version of the journal Science published by the AAAS.



BioOne Restricted Resource
BioOneSearch and access full text and full image articles from over 60 scholarly journals about biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.


Science (Gale OneFile) Restricted Resource
Science (Gale OneFile)A collection of hundreds of science journals.
Types of Sources
Within the broad discourse of a field, there are many different kinds of sources. In academic writing, we usually divide sources into academic or scholarly sources, and popular sources. One central difference is that academic and scholarly sources go through a process called peer review, while popular sources do not.

What is the difference between scholarly sources and popular sources? The Georgetown University Library has a good comparison between the two here.

Popular Sources
  • Written by non-experts for a general audience
  • Published in popular magazines or newspapers (Time, Popular Mechanics, The New York Times)
  • Not edited or reviewed by experts before publication
  • Often contain no references
  • Often have advertising or look flashy and eye-catching
Scholarly Sources
  • Written by experts (usually professors) for an academic audience
  • Published in academic journals (The Journal of Academic Emergency Medicine, PMLA, The New England Journal of Medicine)
  • Edited and reviewed by other experts before publication
  • Contain references
  • Have minimal or no advertising; look very plain.

What is peer review? The publisher Elsevier has a good overview here. Peer review is the process by which an academic article is reviewed and edited before it is published in an academic journal. It is reviewed by other experts in the field. If it doesn't meet high academic standards or contains bad information, it is sent back to the author for revision, or outright rejected. This process ensures that only the best articles are published by academic journals.

Within scholarly sources, there is also the distinction between primary sources and secondary sources. Within the sciences, this is offen the difference between original research and reviews. The BMCC library has a good overview of the difference between primary and secondary sources here

Primary Research
  • Experiments, clinical trials, original research conducted by the authors.
  • Contains sections about methodology, materials, results, and discussion.

Reviews/Secondary Sources
  • Reviews and interprets someone else's original research.
  • Summarizes multiple different studies.
  • Does not contain methodology, results, or discussion sections.
Evaluate Your Sources
Evaluate each source you use with CAPPS!
Consider the source's –
C = Currency - When was this written?
A = Author - Who wrote this and what are their credentials? 
P = Publication - Who published this and are they reputable?
P = Point of View - What is the purpose or point-of-view of the source?
S = Sources - Does the source cite their facts or have references?
More info about CAPPS pdf
Learn About Scholarly Publishing
Peer Review video by North Carolina State University Library




Format of a Research Article video by University of Texas at San Antonio Library
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!
Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

librarian Lacey
Lacey Mamak
Electronic Resources/
Reference & Instruction Librarian
lacey.mamak@normandale.edu

Chat with a Librarian
We're here to help!
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Cite Your Sources (SSF)
Scientific Style and Format (CSE Style) Restricted Resource
The online version of the science writing and citation guide, published by the Council of Science Editors (CSE). See Part 4 Chapter 29 for information on how to cite your sources.
Other Search Options
Google Scholar

Google Scholar allows you to search the Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles available from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

Click on "Full-Text @ NCC Library" to locate the item through the Normandale Library subscriptions. Only items for which Normandale Library has a current subscription will be available for free.

Note: When accessing from off campus, you will be directed to log into the library site before with your StarID and password before you can search in Google Scholar.



Journal Title Search

If you know the name of the journal you want to search, use the Journal Title Search to see if it is available in print or online from the library.

 
Browse Journal Tables of Contents
Cell Biology Journals on Browzine
Browzine is the library's platform for browsing (not searching) through the tables of contents of different academic journals. This is a great way to stay informed on the latest issues of journals or read articles on topics you never knew you were interested in.

Note: Not all journals the library has access to are available through Browzine, and, for some journals, the newest articles may not be available to read.


Powered by SubjectsPlus