Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Find Articles
Encyclopedias are a great place to start on most topics. They will give you a good overview of the topic and should frequently be updated with new information. 

Science E-book Collection (Gale Virtual Reference Library) Restricted Resource
This collection of reference e-books covers a broad range of science topics including biotechnology, chemistry, computer sciences, space sciences, and more.

Credo Reference -- Science Restricted Resource
Credo logoCredo Reference -- Science includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, bibliographies, chronologies, handbooks, and more in the area of science.  The titles in Credo Reference are from over eighty of the world's leading academic publishers. Credo's collections are continuously updated to reflect the most relevant, up-to-date content.

Salem Science Restricted Resource
Salem logoSalem Science provides full-text coverage of reference books on earth science, energy, the environment, and more.
 
Find More Sources
Use scholarly databases to find more in depth information about a specific element of the topic or to locate research.

Science Reference Center Restricted Resource
Science Reference Center logo and linkScience Reference Center contains full text science-oriented content – academic journal articles, magazine articles, science encyclopedias, and images.


General Science Collection Restricted Resource
General Science CollectionA collection of over 200 journals, providing researchers with the information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments.


Health Reference Center - Academic Restricted Resource
Health Reference Center Academic logoSearch for articles on medicine, nursing and allied health.

 
Helpful Websites
MedlinePlus Unrestricted Resource
MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. Preformulated MEDLINE searches are included in MedlinePlus and give easy access to medical journal articles. MedlinePlus also has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news.


PubMed/MEDLINE Unrestricted Resource
PubMed contains citations to articles in MEDLINE and other sources. Selected full text articles available. Click the Find Full Text button with the Normandale logo to see if the full text of the article is available in another database.


Center for Disease Control - STDs
The CDC page contains a huge amount of frequently updated information on STDs
https://www.cdc.gov/std/default.htm


Minnesota Department of Health - STDs
The MDH page has a well organized site with information on individual STDs in numerous languages.
http://www.health.state.mn.us/divs/idepc/dtopics/stds/index.html
Choosing and Using Keywords
Choosing and Using Keywords
If you can’t find much on your topic, try different keywords. Using synonyms or broader related terms can help you find more articles. As you research, be on the lookout for new keywords to use.

  

Research is a process. You probably won’t find everything you need on the first try. You may have to try several library databases to find all the information you need.
 
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

 

David Vrieze Daniels

Library Faculty - Reference & Instruction
david.vriezedaniels@normandale.edu
Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Evaluate Source Credibility
Evaluate each source you use with CAPPS!
Consider the source's –
C = Currency
A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources
More info about CAPPS pdf


Powered by SubjectsPlus