Gale eBooks is a collection of full-text e-books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books in biography, history, literature, medicine, and more.
Credo Reference -- Science
Credo Reference -- Science includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, bibliographies, chronologies, handbooks, and more in the area of science. The titles in Credo Reference are from over eighty of the world's leading academic publishers. Credo's collections are continuously updated to reflect the most relevant, up-to-date content.
Salem Science provides full-text coverage of reference books on earth science, energy, the environment, and more.
Articles from scholarly journals contain original research on narrow topics and are written by experts for an academic audience.
Science Reference Center
Science Reference Center contains full text science-oriented content – academic journal articles, magazine articles, science encyclopedias, and images.
Science (Gale OneFile)
A collection of hundreds of science journals. It includes popular scientific magazines like Scientific American and peer-reviewed journals like Nature and Science.
Health & Medicine (Gale OneFile)
Search for articles on medicine, nursing and allied health.
US Newsstream (ProQuest)
Provides full text coverage of national and leading regional papers such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA TODAY, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Atlanta Journal- Constitution, Barron's, The Boston Globe, The Guardian, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Washington Post.
Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.
Library Catalog Search - use this search if the above search is broken.
If you can’t find much on your topic, try different keywords. Using synonyms or broader related terms can help you find more articles. As you research, be on the lookout for new keywords to use.
Research is a process. You probably won’t find everything you need on the first try. You may have to try several library databases to find all the information you need.
Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!(952) 358-8290
Library Faculty - Reference & Instruction
Chat with a Librarian
We're here to help!
Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.
A guide to APA citation format based on the 6th edition of the APA Publication Manual.
APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
APA (American Psychological Association) is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page.
APA Citation Machine - This will help you format your citation in APA. Note that it will help you put it in the right format, but will not check other things like capitalization or punctuation. To make sure your formatting is correct, check your citation against one of the style guides above.
Consider the source's –
A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources