Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Find Articles
You will be researching for a paper on graphic novels, based on a question prompt. There are two ways you can research for this paper. You can research what has been written on a particular graphic novel, and tie in what other people have written about it with your own ideas. Or, you can research what people have written about a particular theme in graphic novels. 

Encyclopedia Articles - short, comprehensive articles on broad topics. Similar to wikipedia articles.

Gale eBooks Restricted Resource
Gale eBooks logoGale eBooks is a collection of full-text e-books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books in biography, history, literature, medicine, and more.

Credo Reference Restricted Resource
Credo logoCredo Reference contains dictionaries, general and subject encyclopedias, biographies, handbooks, atlases, and more.


Literature Databases

Gale Literature Resource Center Restricted Resource
Gale Literature Resource Center logoGale Literature Resource Center offers a wealth of information that includes criticism, biographies, bibliographies, work overviews and explications, Web sites, periodical articles, compare and contrast pages, full-text author's works, and reading lists.


Salem Literature Restricted Resource
Salem LiteratureThe Salem Literature provides full-text reference coverage of literary themes and prominent authors, as well as analyses of notable books and poetry.


Academic Journal Databases (includes literature journals)

JSTOR Restricted Resource
JSTOR contains hundreds of scholarly journals from all disciplines. Full text coverage varies by journal.



Project MUSE Restricted Resource
Project MuseProvides full text articles from journals that cover literature, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and more.


General Purpose Databases (many subjects; many types of sources)

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.



Search (Nearly) Everything 

Combined Search Unrestricted Resource

Combined Search helps find articles, books, and videos from the library collection.

 
Find Books
Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us! Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email


Luke Mosher

Library Faculty - Reference & Instruction
luke.mosher@normandale.edu

Chat with a Librarian
We're here to help!
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Cite Your Sources (MLA)
MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.


Powered by SubjectsPlus