Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Evaluate each source you use with CAPPS!
Consider the source's –
Consider the source's –
C = Currency - When was this written?
A = Author - Who wrote this and what are their credentials?
P = Publication - Who published this and are they reputable?
P = Point of View - What is the purpose or point-of-view of the source?
S = Sources - Does the source cite their facts or have references?
More info about CAPPS A = Author - Who wrote this and what are their credentials?
P = Publication - Who published this and are they reputable?
P = Point of View - What is the purpose or point-of-view of the source?
S = Sources - Does the source cite their facts or have references?
For the library session for this class, we're evaluating "Doctors Say No to GMOs" by Jeffrey M. Smith, published in The Iowa Source. Access it by clicking here.
Encyclopedias articles provide broad topic overviews. They can be helpful when first starting research, as they often supply definitions of terms or ideas.
Environment E-book Collection (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
This collection contains encyclopedias and reference books in a variety of environmental topics including climate change, pollution, recycling, alternative energy, and more.
Salem Science
Salem Science provides full-text coverage of reference books on earth science, energy, the environment, and more.
Films on Demand: Biology
Films and videos covering the topics of general biology, human anatomy, physiology, plant and animal biology, marine biology, microbiology and ecology.
Articles from scholarly journals are written by scientists and reflect the latest research in the field.
ScienceDirect College Ed.: Health & Life Sciences Journal Collection
The Health & Life Sciences Journal Collection offers leading literature online in the health and life sciences, including health and nursing professions, biology, and environmental sciences.
General Science Collection
A collection of over 200 journals, providing researchers with the information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments.
Science Reference Center
Science Reference Center contains full text science-oriented content – academic journal articles, magazine articles, science encyclopedias, and images.
Science Magazine
Online version of the journal Science published by the AAAS.
Environmental Science and Technology
Environmental Science & Technology (ES&T) is an authoritative source of information for professionals in a wide range of environmental disciplines. The journal combines magazine and research sections and is published both in print and online.
Environment E-book Collection (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
This collection contains encyclopedias and reference books in a variety of environmental topics including climate change, pollution, recycling, alternative energy, and more.
Salem Science
Salem Science provides full-text coverage of reference books on earth science, energy, the environment, and more. Films on Demand: Biology
Films and videos covering the topics of general biology, human anatomy, physiology, plant and animal biology, marine biology, microbiology and ecology.
Articles from scholarly journals are written by scientists and reflect the latest research in the field.
ScienceDirect College Ed.: Health & Life Sciences Journal Collection
The Health & Life Sciences Journal Collection offers leading literature online in the health and life sciences, including health and nursing professions, biology, and environmental sciences. General Science Collection
A collection of over 200 journals, providing researchers with the information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments. Science Reference Center
Science Reference Center contains full text science-oriented content – academic journal articles, magazine articles, science encyclopedias, and images. Science Magazine
Online version of the journal Science published by the AAAS. Environmental Science and Technology
Environmental Science & Technology (ES&T) is an authoritative source of information for professionals in a wide range of environmental disciplines. The journal combines magazine and research sections and is published both in print and online.
Websites can have valuable information, provided they are authored and published by credible people or organizations. Below are some suggested web sources. If you search online on your own, be sure to use the CAPPS Test.
Scientific American
How Stuff Works - Science
Science.gov
A gateway to authoritative, selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results.
Scientific American
How Stuff Works - Science
Science.gov
A gateway to authoritative, selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results.
Ask Us Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!
(952) 358-8290
Luke Mosher
Library Faculty - Reference and Instruction
luke.mosher@normandale.edu
Chat with a Librarian 24/7
Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.